# Votes and Proceedings - Plenary

Meeting Venue: Y Siambr - Y Senedd Meeting date: Tuesday, 29 June 2021 Meeting time: 13.30 This meeting can be viewed on <u>Senedd TV</u> at: <u>http://senedd.tv/en/12319</u>

# 10(v3)

This meeting was held in a hybrid format, with some Members in the

Senedd Chamber and others joining by video-conference.

## 1 Nominations for committee chairs

The item started at 13.30

The Presiding Officer invited nominations for committee chairs in accordance with Standing Order 17.2F. Nominations were called in the following order:

### Equality and Social Justice Committee (Labour)

Jayne Bryant nominated Jenny Rathbone.

Mike Hedges seconded the nomination.

As there was only one nomination and no objections to the nomination, the Presiding Officer declared that Jenny Rathbone was elected as Chair of the Equality and Social Justice Committee.

#### Public Accounts and Public Administration Committee (Welsh Conservatives)

Laura Anne Jones nominated Mark Isherwood.

As there was only one nomination and no objections to the nomination, the Presiding Officer declared that Mark Isherwood was elected as Chair of the Public Accounts and Public Administration Committee.

#### Finance Committee (Plaid Cymru)



Delyth Jewell nominated Peredur Owen Griffiths.

Sioned Williams nominated Rhys ab Owen.

As there were two nominations, the Presiding Officer referred the nominations to a secret ballot in accordance with Standing Order 17.21.

#### Legislation, Justice and Constitution Committee (Labour)

Sarah Murphy nominated Huw Irranca-Davies.

Buffy Williams seconded the nomination.

As there was only one nomination and no objections to the nomination, the Presiding Officer declared that Huw Irranca-Davies was elected as Chair of the Legislation, Justice and Constitution Committee.

#### Petitions Committee (Labour)

Jayne Bryant nominated Jack Sargeant.

Ken Skates seconded the nomination.

As there was only one nomination and no objections to the nomination, the Presiding Officer declared that Jack Sargeant was elected as Chair of the Petitions Committee.

# Culture, Communications, Welsh Language, Sport and International Relations Committee (Plaid Cymru)

Llyr Gruffydd nominated Delyth Jewell.

Rhys ab Owen nominated Heledd Fychan.

As there were two nominations, the Presiding Officer referred the nominations to a secret ballot in accordance with Standing Order 17.2I.

### Economy, Trade and Rural Affairs Committee (Welsh Conservatives)

Laura Anne Jones nominated Paul Davies.

As there was only one nomination and no objections to the nomination, the Presiding Officer declared that Paul Davies was elected as Chair of the Economy, Trade and Rural Affairs Committee.

#### Health and Social Care Committee (Welsh Conservatives)

Laura Anne Jones nominated Russell George.

As there was only one nomination and no objections to the nomination, the Presiding Officer declared that Russell George was elected as Chair of the Health and Social Care Committee.

#### Local Government and Housing Committee (Labour)

Jayne Bryant nominated John Griffiths.

Ken Skates seconded the nomination.

Rhianon Passmore nominated Mike Hedges.

Jack Sargeant seconded the nomination.

As there were two nominations, the Presiding Officer referred the nominations to a secret ballot in accordance with Standing Order 17.21.

### Climate Change, Environment and Infrastructure Committee (Plaid Cymru)

Mabon ap Gwynfor nominated Llyr Gruffydd.

As there was only one nomination and no objections to the nomination, the Presiding Officer declared that Llyr Gruffydd was elected as Chair of the Climate Change, Environment and Infrastructure Committee.

#### Children, Young People and Education Committee (Labour)

Ken Skates nominated Jayne Bryant.

Jenny Rathbone seconded the nomination.

As there was only one nomination and no objections to the nomination, the Presiding Officer declared that Jayne Bryant was elected as Chair of the Children, Young People and Education Committee.

#### Standards of Conduct Committee (Labour)

Huw Irranca-Davies nominated Vikki Howells.

Buffy Williams seconded the nomination.

As there was only one nomination and no objections to the nomination, the Presiding Officer declared that Vikki Howells was elected as Chair of the Standards of Conduct Committee.

# Point of Order

Alun Davies raised a point of order to express his disappointment that the Business Committee had not agreed his request to stand jointly with Mike Hedges for Chair of the Local Government and Housing Committee, and to job-share the post if elected. The Llywydd stated that she received the request yesterday afternoon, and that the idea of job-sharing had not been raised at any point during the Business Committee's discussions regarding the committee structure over recent weeks. The Llywydd stated that job-share of a committee Chair post is not something that is currently possible under Standing Orders, and that it was the Business Committee's unanimous view that such a change could not be brought in at such short notice but should be subject to careful consideration. Business Committee had agreed to look into the possibility of introducing job-sharing in a systemic way in the near future.

## 2 Questions to the First Minister

The item started at 13.48

The first 6 questions were asked. The Presiding Officer invited party leaders to ask questions to the First Minister after question 2.

## 3 Business Statement and Announcement

The item started at 14.47

In accordance with Standing Order 12.18, at 15.05 the meeting was suspended by the Presiding Officer.

## 4 Statement by the First Minister: Reforming our Union

The item started at 15.16

## 5 Statement by the Minister for Economy: Young Person's Guarantee

The item started at 16.01

In accordance with Standing Order 12.18, at 16.28 the meeting was suspended by the Deputy Presiding Officer.

# 6 Statement by the Deputy Minister for Social Partnership: Advancing LGBTQ+ Equality in Wales

The item started at 16.38

# 7 Statement by the Deputy Minister for Social Services: Social Care Fair Work and Real Living Wage

The item started at 17.06

# 8 The Health Protection (Coronavirus Restrictions) (No. 5) (Wales) (Amendment) (No. 13) Regulations 2021

The item started at 17.30

NDM7724 Lesley Griffiths (Wrexham)

To propose that the Senedd, in accordance with Standing Order 27.5:

1. Approves The Health Protection (Coronavirus Restrictions) (No. 5) (Wales) (Amendment) (No. 13) Regulations 2021 <u>laid</u> in the Table Office on 18 June 2021.

The motion was agreed in accordance with Standing Order 12.36.

## 9 Voting Time

There was no Voting Time.

# Election of Committee Chairs: Result

The item started at 18.00

The Presiding Officer announced the results of the secret ballots for the election of committee chairs in the following order:

### Finance Committee

Rhys ab Owen	Peredur Owen Griffiths	Abstentions	Total
27	30	1	58

The Presiding Officer declared Peredur Owen Griffiths elected as Chair of the **Finance Committee**.

### Culture, Communications, Welsh Language, Sport and International Relations Committee

Heledd Fychan	Delyth Jewell	Abstentions	Total
13	44	1	58

The Presiding Officer declared Delyth Jewell elected as Chair of the Culture,

Communications, Welsh Language, Sport and International Relations Committee.

### Local Government and Housing Committee

John Griffiths	Mike Hedges	Abstentions	Total
31	27	0	58

The Presiding Officer declared John Griffiths elected as Chair of the Local Government and Housing Committee.

Sian Gwenllian (Arfon) cast a proxy vote on behalf of Adam Price (Carmarthen East and Dinefwr) in the three elections.

The meeting concluded at 18.02

The Senedd will sit again in Plenary at 13.30, Wednesday, 30 June 2021